CCENT/CCNA Certification      

Cisco offers two entry-level certifications: Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician (CCENT™) and Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA®)

The CCENT certification confirms the ability to install, operate and troubleshoot a small enterprise branch network, including basic network security. This certification demonstrates the skills required for entry-level network support positions.

The CCNA certification confirms the ability to install, configure, operate, and troubleshoot medium-size route and switched networks, including implementation and verification of connections to remote sites in a WAN. This certification is the most popular networking certification today.

To obtain the certification, you must take one or more examinations. Cisco offers the ICND1 (640-822) and ICND2 (640-816) exams along with the CCNA (640-802) exam. These examinations are administered at sites found across the country. There is a fee charged for taking the exam.

To become CCENT certified, you must pass the ICND1 exam.

To become CCNA certified, you can pass both the ICND1 and ICND2 exams or just the CCNA exam. The CCNA exam covers all the topics on the ICND1 and ICND2 exams, giving you two options for gaining your CCNA certification. The two-exam path gives people with less experience a chance to study for a smaller set of topics at one time. The one-exam option provides a more cost-effective certification path for those who want to prepare for all the topics at once. The figure shows the possible paths through the certification exams.

Cisco certification testing paths








The Cisco Networking Academy is a comprehensive 4-course program which teaches students to design, build and maintain computer networks, and at the same time, prepares them to take the Cisco Certified Networking Associate (CCNA) exam. CCNA certification includes the ability to install, configure, and operate routed LAN, routed WAN, and switched LAN networks. The program combines lectures, online learning, and hands-on laboratory exercises. Students who complete the four networking courses at Calumet College will get a voucher for reduced testing fees. The CCNA program at Calumet College is divided into the following 4 courses, and each class must be taken in sequence.

CMIS 113 Introduction to Computer Networks
This is the CCNA 1 Curriculum: Networking Basics course. It covers the following topics:

Networking Fundamentals
Networking Media
Ethernet Fundamentals
Internet Protocol (IP) addressing,
including subnet masks
Routing Fundamentals and Subnets

CMIS 213 Internetworking and TCP/IP
This is the CCNA 2 Curriculum: Router and Routing Basics course. It covers the following topics:

WANs and Routers
Configuring a Router
Routing and Routing Protocols
Intermediate TCP/IP
Access Control Lists

CMIS 313 Network switching and VLANS
This is the CCNA 3 Curriculum: Switching Basics and Intermediate Routing course. It covers the following topics:

Introduction to Classless Routing
Single-Area OSPF
Switching Concepts
Spanning Tree Protocol
Virtual Local Area Networks (VLANs)
Virtual Trunking Protocol

CMIS 413 WANs and Network Services
This is the CCNA 4 Curriculum: WAN Technologies course. It covers the following topics:

Scaling IP addresses
WAN Technologies
Frame Relay
Introduction to Network

Delivery Formats

The Cisco Academy courses are available in a number of delivery formats:

• Stand-alone, non-degree courses
• Post-baccalaureate certificate
• B.S. degree in Computer Information
• B.S. degree in Organization
Management with concentration in Computer Networking

Courses are organized into 15-week, 8-week or 4-week sessions to meet the needs of everyone from traditional students to working professionals looking to upgrade their skills.

Contact Information

For admission information, please call or visit Calumet College of St. Joseph at 2400 New York Avenue in Whiting, Indiana, (219) 473-4215 or the college’s Web site at

If you have additional questions about the Cisco Networking Academy, please contact:


You can find more information about the Cisco Academy courses here.

You can find more information about the examinations, including finding a test site near you, at Cisco's Web site.