Introduction
Welcome ! 

This guide was created to help students enrolled in the Digital & Studio Arts program find books, eBooks, articles, and other resources they need for their research and coursework. Resources in this guide have been selected based on their usefulness and relevancy to the type of content covered in program courses. The guide is organized by different types of resources available in the library and online. Use the tabs above to navigate the guide. As always, if you need help or have any questions, please be sure to reach out to the library. Our contact information and hours are listed on the right.  
Get Help
Contact:

Martin Martinez
Library Assistant

 219-473-4376
 mmartinez@ccsj.edu 

 

Books
Sections N - NK in the library, library 3rd floor, contains books in the area of fine arts, including those on painting, graphic arts, and graphic design. Relevant videos are located at the Circulation Desk. Use the search box below to search for additional books and videos. 
 

Image Source: Google Images (Library Catalog)
Book & Video Search
Search for books, videos, and reference resources available at the Specker Library.
 


 

Art eBooks
The library currently provides access to over three hundred art eBooks. Below is a sample of some of the eBooks available.Use the search box below to search for other eBooks.

       
Search eBooks
Use the searc box below to search for eBooks.
 
Search eBooks
Databases
The following is a list databases that you should consider when searching for articles or other electronic content within the arts field. The first section includes those that will provide you with the best content. The second section provides a few additional multidisplinary databases that may be helpful for your research. Click on the title to open the database. 



Humanities International Complete  -  Provides access to articles from over one thousand two hundred journals from various disciplines in the humanities, including the arts. The database also provides access to full-text books and other resources. Learn more about this database. 
Biography in Context -  Provides information about present and historically significant people from all across the world, including famous artists.  Click here to learn more about this database. 


JSTOR  -  A multidisciplinary database providing access to articles, books, and other content from almost every discipline, including the arts. The database allows you to search some two hundred and forty-four journals. Scrolling down on the main page allows you to select the subject areas you would like to focus your search on. Learn more about this database. 
Academic Search Premier  -  A multidisciplinary database providing full-text articles from some 4,600 journals. Learn more about this database. 
Search Databases
Use the tool below to search the two databases on the left. You may select/deselect the databases you would like to search below. By default, the tool will retrieve only full-text articles (articles we have access to) and those that are peer-reviewed (reviewed by experts in that field).Change these settings under the "Limit Your Results" section below.

Search Research Databases
Limit Your Results

 
Don't Forget!
When searching the web and looking at sources, it is important to evaluate each source to ensure it is credible. Learn more about the criteria you should consider when evaluating information found on the web. 
Background Information
A selection of freely accessible online reference resources that you can use to find quick background information on certain works of art, artists, art terminology, and more!

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Artcyclopedia
http://www.artcyclopedia.com/

WikiArt
http://www.wikiart.org/ 

DICTIONARIES

ArtLex 
http://www.artlex.com/

TIMELINES

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/

Timelines of Modern Art
http://www.theartstory.org/section_timelines.htm
Organizations
The following is a list of relevant organizations and associations that may have helpful information.  

INTERNATIONAL

International Digital Media and Arts Association
http://idmaa.org/ 

NATIONAL (U.S.)

American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA)
http://www.aiga.org/​ 

Society of Illustrators
http://www.societyillustrators.org/

American Society for Aesthetics
http://aesthetics-online.org/

STATE

Indiana Arts Commission
http://www.in.gov/arts/ 
Digital Collections
The following is a list of digital collections of artwork (paintings, drawings, etc.), artifacts, and more that can be viewed freely on the web. 

National Gallery of Art Collection
http://www.nga.gov/content/ngaweb/Collection.html

Web Gallery of Art
http://www.wga.hu/ 

Smithsonian Collections Search Center (Art & Design)
http://collections.si.edu/search/index.htm

Art Project (Google Cultural Institute)
https://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/project/art-project