In the News

Loading ...

Introduction
Welcome!  

This guide was created to help students enrolled in the Computer Management Information Systems program find books, eBooks, articles, and other resources they need for their research and coursework. Use the tabs above to navigate the guide. As always, if you need help or have any questions, please be sure to reach out to the library. Our contact information and hours are listed on the right.  
 
Get Help
Contact:

Martin Martinez
Library Assistant

 219-473-4376
 mmartinez@ccsj.edu 

 

Library Hours
Spring 2018: 
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Sunday: Closed
Books
The QA section in the library, library fourth floor, contains computer books that can be checked out. Below is a sample  of some of the books that we have. Use the "Library Catalog" tool below to search for other books. 

        

Source : Google Images (Library Catalog)
Book & Video Search
Search for books, videos, and reference resources available at the Specker Library.
 


 

E-Books
The Specker Library provides students access to one hundred and seventy-nine computer-related eBooks. Below is a small collection of some of the books available. Use the search box at the bottom to search for additional eBooks!

    

Search eBooks!
Use the form below to search for eBooks.
 
Search eBooks
Recommended Databases
The following is a list databases that you should consider when searching for articles or other electronic content within the area of Computer Information Systems.  Click on the title to open the database. 

 
JSTOR  -  A multidisciplinary database providing access to articles, books, and other content from almost every discipline. Scrolling down to the bottom of the main page allows you to select the subject areas you would like to focus your search on. Learn more about this database. 
Academic Search Premier  -  A multidisciplinary database providing full-text articles from almost every discipline and on almost every subject, including technology, computer science, and more. Learn more about this database.
Search Academic Search Premier
Use the search box below to search Academic Search Premier.

Academic Search Premier
Limit Your Results
Search JSTOR
 

 


 
Don't Forget!
When searching the web and looking at sources, it is important to evaluate each source to ensure it is credible. Learn more about the criteria you should consider when evaluating information found on the web. 
Background Information
Dictionaries 

Webopedia
http://www.webopedia.com/ 
 
TechTerms
http://techterms.com/
 
Training/Learning Resources
The following websites allow you to learn one or more programming languages through self-paced tutorials. 

Codecademy
https://www.codecademy.com/

W3Schools
http://www.w3schools.com/ 

LearnCpp.com
http://www.learncpp.com/

 
Professional Organizations
The following is a list of professional organizations you can consult to find more information within this field. 

NATIONAL

Association for Computing Machinery
http://www.acm.org/
 
Application Developers Alliance
http://www.appdevelopersalliance.org

National Association of Programmers
http://www.napusa.org/


STATE

Association for Information Science and Technology (Indiana chapter)
https://www.asist.org/