In the News (TheCrimeReport)

Loading ...

Criminal Justice
Introduction
Welcome!

This guide was created to help students enrolled in the Criminal Justice program find books, eBooks, articles, and other resources. The guide is organized based on the types of resources available in the library and online.  As always, if you need help or have any questions, please be sure to reach out to the library. Our contact information and hours of operation are displayed on the right.  
Get Help
Contact:

Martin Martinez
Library Assistant

 219-473-4376
 mmartinez@ccsj.edu 

 

Books
Sections HV and KF in the library, library 1st floor, contain criminal justice books. Relevant videos are available at the Circulation Desk. Below is a sample of some of the books that we have available. Click on a book below to see where it is located in the library. Use the "Library Catalog" tool at the bottom of the page to find additional books.

              

Image: Google Books (Library Catalog)
Book & Video Search
Search for books, videos, and reference resources available at the Specker Library.
 


 

eBooks
Use the search box below to find additional eBooks. 

            
Search eBooks
Use the form below to search for eBooks.
 
Search eBooks
Recommended Databases
The following is a list of core and multidisciplinary databases that you should consider when searching for articles (research, magazine, etc) in the field of criminal justice. Click on the title to access the database. 



Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text -  Provides access to over 241,000 full-text articles on a variety of criminal justice topics (corrections, juvenile delinquency, etc.  Learn more about this database.  
PsychARTICLES -  A database providing access to thousands of psychology articles, many of which relate to or are connected with criminal justice topics. Coverage includes criminal justice and related subjects. Click here to learn more about this database.  
Westlaw -   Designed for research of local, state, and federal cases and legislation. Westlaw use is limited to CCSJ students and faculty enrolled in specific courses. If you are enrolled in a course that requires the use of this database, contact the library. 


Academic Search Premier -  A multidisciplinary database providing access to full-text articles from almost every academic discipline, including Criminal Justice. Click here to learn more about this database.  
Note: If you are off-campus and you click on one of the links above, you will be prompted to enter a student ID # and your last name. 
Search Databases
Use the tool below to search the four databases listed on the left. You may select/deselect the databases that you want to search below.

 

Search Databases
Limit Your Results

 
Don't Forget!
When searching the web and looking at sources, it is important to evaluate each source to ensure it is credible. Learn more about the criteria you should consider when evaluating information found on the web. 
Background Information
DICTIONARIES

Legal Terms & Definitions 
http://dictionary.law.com/ 

Glossary
http://www.uscourts.gov/glossary  
 
 
Data & Statistics
The following is a list of federal and state government resources you can consult to find reliable statistical information and data.  
 
Bureau of Justice Statistics
http://www.bjs.gov/
 
Federal Bureau of Investigation – Uniform Crime Reports
https://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ucr/ucr  

Indiana Criminal Justice Institute
http://www.in.gov/cji/2335.htm
 
U.S. Census Bureau – Criminal Justice Statistics
http://www.census.gov/govs/cj/
Professional Associations
NATIONAL

National Criminal Justice Association
http://www.ncja.org/

The American Society of Criminology
http://www.asc41.com/index.htm
 
Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences
http://www.acjs.org/
 
American Correctional Association
http://www.aca.org/
 
United States Deputy Sheriffs' Association
http://www.usdeputy.org/
 
American Probation and Parole Association
http://www.appa-net.org/

STATE

Indiana Criminal Justice Association
http://www.indianacorrectionalassociation.org/