Education
Introduction
Welcome!

This guide was created to help students enrolled in the
 Education program find books, eBooks, articles, and other resources they need for their research and coursework. Use the tabs above to navigate the guide. As always, if you need help or have any questions, please be sure to reach out to the library. Our contact information and hours are listed on the right.  
Get Help
Contact:

Martin Martinez
Library Assistant

 219-473-4376
 mmartinez@ccsj.edu 

 

Finding Education-Related Books
Sections LA thru LG in the library, 2nd floor of the library, contain education books that can be checked-out. Relevant videos are located at the Circulation Desk. Below is a small sample of some of the books available. Use the "Library Catalog" tool below to find additional books. 
 
   
 

Source : Google Images (Library Catalog)
Book & Video Search
Search for books, videos, and reference resources available at the Specker Library.
 


 

Education eBooks
The Specker Library provides students access to one hundred eighty-five education eBooks. Below are some of the books we have. Click on the picture to access the full eBook.

      
Search eBooks
Use the form below to search for eBooks.
 
Search eBooks
Education Databases
The following is a list of core education and multidisciplinary databases that you should consult to find articles published within the field of education. 

  • ERIC  -  Provides access to thousands of educational and education-related journals. Learn more about this database. 
     
  • Professional Development Collection   - Designed specifically for educators, this database provides access to some five hundred educational journals. Learn more about this database. 
  • Explora Educator's Edition -  A portal designed for educators, incorporating not only thousands of educational journals from the two databases above, but also supplemental resources, such as sample lesson plans. 
  • PsychARTICLES -  Although primarily intended for research in the field of psychology , PsychARTICLES also provides access to many education articles.
Search All Education Databases
Use the tool below to search one or more of the databases on the left. Under "Limit Results," select "Full Text" to only retrieve articles that we have access to, or select "Peer Reviewed" to find only those that have been reviewed by experts in that field. 

Search Education Databases
Limit  Results


Don't Forget!
When searching the web and looking at sources, it is important to evaluate each source to ensure it is credible. Learn more about the criteria you should consider when evaluating all types of information sources. 
Background Information
ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Best Evidence Encyclopedia
http://www.bestevidence.org/
 
The Encyclopaedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory
http://eepat.net/
 
DICTIONARIES

A Brief Critical Dictionary of Education
http://www.dictionaryofeducation.co.uk
 
 
Data & Statistics
The following resources provide federal and state statistics on education.
 
National Center for Education Statistics
http://nces.ed.gov/
 
Indiana Department of Education – IDOE Data
http://www.doe.in.gov/idoe/idoe-data
Classroom Resources
The following websites provide freely accessible instructional resources, including lesson plans, handouts, and multimedia content.

TeachersFirst
http://www.teachersfirst.com/
 
Teaching Resources (National Geographic)
http://education.nationalgeographic.org/teaching-resources/
 
MERLOT Teacher Education Portal
https://www.merlot.org/merlot/index.htm
 
PBS LearningMedia
http://www.pbslearningmedia.org/
 
Professional Associations
NATIONAL

Association of American Educators
https://www.aaeteachers.org/
 
The American Federation of Teachers
http://www.aft.org/
 
National Education Association
http://www.nea.org/
 
STATE

Indiana State Teachers Association
https://ista-in.org/
 
Illinois Education Association
http://www.ieanea.org/