In the News

Loading ...

  
Introduction
Welcome!

This guide was created to help students enrolled in the English and Literature program find books, eBooks, articles, and other resources. Simply click on one of the tabs above to see the resources available. As always, if you need help or have any questions, please be sure to reach out to the library. Our contact information and hours of operation are displayed on the right.  
Get Help
Contact:

Martin Martinez
Library Assistant

 219-473-4376
 mmartinez@ccsj.edu 

 

Books & Videos
Section P thru PZ in the library contains books in the area of English and literature. Here you will find works on writing (PE), the history of the English language (PE), along with American Literature (PS) and fiction books (PZ). Below is a sample of some of the books that we have. 

  

Source: Google Image ( Library Catalog)
Book & Video Search
Search for books, videos, and reference resources available at the Specker Library.
 


 

eBooks
The Specker Library currently provides students access to five hundred and twenty-three eBooks in the area of "Literature & Criticism," including those on literary analysis of certain works or authors, the history of language, and more. Below are some of these eBooks. Use the search at the bottom to find additional eBooks. 

         

Search eBooks
Use the search box below to search for eBooks.
 
Search eBooks
Databases
The following is a list of specialized (covering one area of discipline) and general (covering many disciplines or subject areas) databases that you should consult when searching for information in the area of English and literature.  Click on the title to access the database. 



Humanities International Complete  -  Provides access to articles from over one thousand two hundred journals from various disciplines in the humanities, including English. The database also provides access to full-text books and other resources. Learn more about this database. 


JSTOR  -  A multidisciplinary database providing access to articles, books, and other content from almost every discipline, including "Language & Literature." Scrolling down on the main page allows you to select the subject area(s) you would like to search.  Learn more about this database. 
Academic Search Premier  -  A multidisciplinary database providing full-text articles from some 4,600 journals. Learn more about this database. 
Search Databases
Use this tool to search one or more of the databases on the left. You may select/deselect the databases you would like to search below. By default, the tool will retrieve only full-text articles (articles that we have access to) and those that are peer-reviewed (reviewed by experts in that field). Change these settings under the "Limit Your Results" section below.

Search Databases Now
Limit Your Results

Note : JSTOR must be searched individually using the link on the left. 
Don't Forget!
When searching the web and looking at sources, it is important to evaluate each source to ensure it is credible. Learn more about the criteria you should consider when evaluating all types of information sources. 
Background Information
The following is a list of reference resources that you can use to find quick background information on literary concepts, authors, and more. 

The Cambridge History of English and American Literature (Encyclopedia)

http://www.bartleby.com/cambridge/

AuthorLinks
http://bcs.bedfordstmartins.com/litlinks/Pages/Main.aspx


 
Classic Literature & eBooks
The following are resources you can consult to find classic works of literature (books, short stories, poems, etc.) that are in the public domain and have been made digitally accessible.

Wright American Fiction 
http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/TEIgeneral/welcome.do?brand=wright 

Project Gutenberg
https://www.gutenberg.org/

ClassicReader

http://www.classicreader.com/
Professional Organizations
The following is a list of national, state, and local organizations that might have  information or useful resources to consult. 

NATIONAL

The American Literature Association
http://americanliteratureassociation.org/ 

Association of Literary Scholars, Critics, and Writers
http://www.alscw.org/about/index.html

Modern Humanities Research Association
http://www.mhra.org.uk/About/index.html
 
Science Fiction Research Association
http://www.sfra.org/

STATE

Indiana Writers' Consortium
http://www.indianawritersconsortium.org/