In the News

Loading ...

Introduction
Welcome!

This guide was created to help students in the Public Safety Management and Public Safety Administration programs find relevant resources for their research assignments. The guide has been broken down into three tabs, with each tab above representing different types of resources that are available. As always, if you need help or have any questions, please be sure to reach out to the library. Our contact information and hours are displayed on the right.  
Get Help
Contact:

Martin Martinez
Library Assistant

 219-473-4376
 mmartinez@ccsj.edu 

 

Library Hours
Spring 2018: 
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Sunday: Closed
Books & Videos
The HV section in the library, library 2nd floor, contains books related to public safety and criminal justice. In addition, the KF section of the library (2nd floor) contains law books that may be helpful. Related videos will be found at the circulation desk (near the front entrance). Below is a small sample of some of the books available. Use the search box at the bottom to find additional books. 

        
Source : Google Images (Library Catalog)
Book & Video Search
Search for books, videos, and reference resources available at the Specker Library.
 


 

eBooks
The library has a small selection of eBooks that may be helpful in your research. Below is a sample of some of the eBooks available. Use the search box at the bottom to search for additional eBooks. 

http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=205813&site=ehost-live       
Search eBooks
Use the search box below to search for eBooks
 
Search eBooks
Databases
The following is a list of specialized (covering one area or discipline) and multidisciplinary (many disciplines or subject areas) databases that you should consult when searching for articles in the area of public safety management and administration. Click on the title to access the database.



Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text -  Provides access to over 241,000 full-text articles on a variety of criminal justice topics (corrections, juvenile delinquency, etc.), as well as public safety research. 
Military & Government Collection  -  A  database with a primary focus on government and military news. Provides full-text articles from some three hundred journals. Learn more about this database. 
Greenfile  -  A database providing access to over 160,000 full-text articles, books, and other types of content on the environment and how it is impacted by humans. A good source for research on public safety disaster issues. Learn more about this database. 


Academic Search Premier  -  A multidisciplinary database providing full-text articles from some 4,600 journals. Learn more about this database. 
JSTOR  -  A multidisciplinary database providing access to articles, books, and other content from almost every disciplineLearn more about this database. 
Search
Use the tool below to search one or more of the databases mentioned on the left. You may select/deselect the databases you would like to search below. By default, the tool will retrieve only full-text articles (articles that we have access to) and those that are peer-reviewed (reviewed by experts in that field). You may change these settings under the "Limit Your Results" section below.

Search Databases
Limit Your Results
Don't Forget!
When searching the web and looking at sources, it is important to evaluate each source to ensure it is credible. Learn more about the criteria you should consider when evaluating information found on the web. 
Statistics & Data
The following is a list of resources you can consult to find statistics and data.

NATIONAL

Bureau of Justice Statistics
http://www.bjs.gov/
 
Federal Bureau of Investigation – Uniform Crime Reports
https://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ucr/ucr  
 
 STATE

Indiana Department of Homeland Security
http://www.in.gov/dhs/index.htm
Relevant Agencies
NATIONAL

Federal Bureau of Investigation
https://www.fbi.gov/
 
Federal Emergency Management Agency
http://www.fema.gov/
 
STATE

Indiana Department of Homeland Security
http://www.in.gov/dhs/index.htm
 
Illinois State Police
http://www.isp.state.il.us/
 
Chicago Police Department
http://www.cityofchicago.org/city/en/depts/cpd.html
Professional Organizations
NATIONAL

National Sheriffs' Association
http://www.sheriffs.org/
 
Professional Law Enforcement Association
https://www.plea.net/
 
The National Emergency Medical Services Association
http://www.nemsausa.org/
 
STATE

Indiana Association of Chiefs of Police
http://iacop.org/