Introduction
The purpose of this guide is to introduce students to the resources available in the Specker Library and online in the sciences.  Use the tabs above to navigate the guide. As always, if you need help or have any questions, please be sure to reach out to the library. Our contact information and hours are listed on the right.  
Get Help
Contact:

Martin Martinez
Library Assistant

 219-473-4376
 mmartinez@ccsj.edu 

 

Books
The Q section of the library, fourth floor of the library, contains Science books that can be checked out. Here you will find books on a range of subjects, including anatomy, biology, and so on. Below is a sample of some of the books that the library has. 

       

Source: Google Images (Library Catalog)
 
Book & Video Search
Search for books, videos, and reference resources available at the Specker Library.
 


 

eBooks
The Specker Library currently provides students and faculty access to some two hundred and fourteen science eBooks. The books below are a small sample of some of the books available. Use the tool below to search for other books now!

       
Search eBooks
Use the form below to search for eBooks.
 
Search eBooks
Databases
The following is a list of specialized (covering one area of discipline) and multidisciplinary (covering many disciplines or subject areas) databases that you should consult when searching for articles in the sciences.  Click on the title to access the database. 



Biomedical Reference Collection  -  Provides access to over one hundred journals, covering research in areas of biotechnology, anatomy, environmental science, and more. Learn more about this database. 
GreenFILE -  A database providing access to over 160,000 full-text articles, books, and other types of content on the environment and how it is impacted by humans. Coverage includes content on topics such as global warming, pollution, and more. Click here to learn more about this database. 

MEDLINE - A medical database providing access to around two million articles, covering all areas of medicine as well research in areas of biotechnology, forensic science, environmental science, and more. Click here to learn more. 



JSTOR  -  A database providing access to articles, books, and other content from almost every discipline. Scrolling down to the bottom of the main page allows you to select the subject areas you would like to focus your search on. Options include Biological Sciences, Botanical Sciences, and more. Learn more about this database. 
Academic Search Premier  -  A multidisciplinary database providing full-text articles from some 4,600 journals. Learn more about this database. 
Search Databases
Use the tool below to search one or more of the databases on the left. You may select/deselect the databases you would like to search below. By default, the tool will retrieve only full-text articles (articles that we have access to) and those that are peer-reviewed (reviewed by experts in that field). You may change these settings under the "Limit Your Results" section below.

Search Databases
Limit Your Results


Note : JSTOR must be searched individually using the link on the left. 
Search Tips
SEARCH FIELDS 

When using our databases, you will notice several search boxes on the left side. The right three boxes allow you to choose different areas of an article to search within, such as the abstract (AB), the title (TI), or even the entire article itself (TX). By default, the database is set to search all fields, meaning that your keywords will be searched against all of these areas.  Selecting specific fields where you want the system to search, such as “Title” or “Abstract,” will give you more accurate results.
Don't Forget!
When searching the web and looking at sources, it is important to evaluate each source to ensure it is credible. Learn more about the criteria you should consider when evaluating information found on the web. 
Professional Associations
NATIONAL (U.S.)
 
American Academy of Forensic Sciences
http://www.aafs.org/
 
American Chemical Society
http://www.acs.org/content/acs/en.html
 
Aerobics and Fitness Association of America
http://www.afaa.com/
 
National Association for Biomedical Research
http://www.nabr.org/