In the News

Loading ...

    
Introduction
Welcome!

This guide was developed to assist students enrolled in the Legal Studies program with finding relevant resources for their research and coursework Simply click on one of the tabs above to see the resources available. As always, if you need help or have any questions, please be sure to reach out to the library. Our contact information and hours are displayed on the right.  
Get Help



Contact:

Milan Kolundzija
Reference/Electronic Resources Librarian

 219-473-4376
 mkolundzija@ccsj.edu 

Library Hours
Spring 2017: 
Monday - Thursday: 8:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Sunday: Closed
Books & Videos
Sections K thru KK in the library, library 2nd floor, contain paralegal and law books which can be checked out. Relevant videos are located at the Circulation Desk. Below is a sample of some of the books that the library owns. Click on a book below to see where it is located in the library. Use the "Library Catalog" tool at the bottom of the page to find other books that we have available. 

        

Source : Google (Library Catalog)
 
Book & Video Search
Search for books, videos, and reference resources available at the Specker Library.
 


 

eBooks
The Specker Library currently provides students access to over one hundred eighty criminal justice and law eBooks. Use the search box at the bottom to find additional eBooks.


               
Search eBooks
Use the form below to search for eBooks.
 
Search eBooks
Databases
The following is a list of core and multidisciplinary databases that you should consider when searching for articles (research, magazine, etc) in the area of legal studies and the law. Click on the title to access the database. 



Westlaw -   Designed for research of local, state, and federal cases, statutes, and legislation. Westlaw use is limited to CCSJ students and faculty enrolled in specific courses.  If you are enrolled in a course that requires the use of this database, contact the library. 
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text -  Provides access to over 241,000 full-text articles on a variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections, juvenile delinquency, and more.  Learn more about this database.  
PsychARTICLES -  Provides access to thousands of psychology articles, many of which relate to or are connected with criminal justice topics.  Click here to learn more about this database.  


JSTOR  -  Provides access to articles, books, and other content from almost every discipline, including "Law" . Scrolling down to the bottom on the main page allows you to select the subject areas you would like to focus your search on. Learn more about this database. 
Academic Search Premier  -  A multidisciplinary database providing full-text articles from almost every discipline, including Criminal Justice and Law. Learn more about this database
Note: If you are off-campus and you click on one of the links above, you will be prompted to enter your student ID # and last name. 
Search Databases
Use the tool below to search the three databases listed on the left. You may select/deselect the databases that you want to search below.

Research databases
Limit Your Results

 
Don't Forget!
When searching the web and looking at sources, it is important to evaluate each source to ensure it is credible. Learn more about the criteria you should consider when evaluating information found on the web. 
Background Information
DICTIONARIES

Legal Terms & Definitions
http://dictionary.law.com/ 

Glossary of Legal Terms – United States Courts
http://www.uscourts.gov/glossary  
 
Professional Organizations
The following is a list of national and state organizations that you can consult for further research. 

NATIONAL

National Federation of Paralegal Associations
http://www.paralegals.org/
 
American Bar Association
http://www.americanbar.org/

National Association of Legal Assistants 
http://www.nala.org/​

STATE

Indiana Paralegal Association, Inc
http://www.indianaparalegals.org/ 

Illinois Paralegal Association
http://www.ipaonline.org/