Whats new?
April 11, 2017 :

SPECKER LIBRARY LAUNCHES BLOG  

In an effort to increase accessibility and readership, Specker Library has decided to transition our bimonthly newsletter from its current format, and publish all future content in an online blog. The new  can be viewed by clicking on the button below.

Welcome!
Welcome! The Specker Library provides information resources and services for students and faculty at Calumet College of St. Joseph.This guide is intended to introduce students and staff to our library and the services and resources we offer. This guide is broken down into several parts:
  • About Specker Library  - Information about our library.
  • Using the Library  - Information about different resources and rules regarding their use.
  • Services for Faculty & Staff - Services available to faculty and staff.
  • Get Help - Information on how to contact the library.
General Contact Information
Telephone: (219) 473-4373
Email: library@ccsj.edu |                        reference@ccsj.edu 
Location : 1st Floor - Room 163
 
Library Hours
Spring 2017:  
Monday - Thursday: 8:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Sunday: Closed
About the Library

Specker Memorial Library provides information resources for students and faculty at Calumet College of St. Joseph. There are over 100,000 volumes of books, several current paper periodical titles, and over 1,000 multimedia items including videos in the collection. Electronic resources are available through the library and the College’s computer labs, as well as from outside the library through the Library’s web page: http://www.ccsj.edu/library.  Research assistance is available for all CCSJ students and faculty by visiting the library and stopping at the Circulation Desk, or by calling (219) 473-4373 and asking for reference assistance.

 

Mission Statement

Specker Library of Calumet College of St. Joseph provides information resources and services that support the college's mission and educational programs. Librarians collect materials and furnish access to information across various formats to promote a liberal education, training for careers, and the development of lifelong learning skills for a culturally diverse student population.

 

Vision Statement

The staff at Specker Memorial Library is committed to transforming our present facility into a library for the 21st century. We will create access to library information and services without regard to time and space limitations. We will create an environment within the physical library that is user friendly, student centered, and provides the tools necessary for research in a digital world. We will create a virtual library with electronic access to library information and services to our students, faculty and staff.

Our Staff

Qi Chen | MLIS, Ed.D

Director of Library Services 
Office:
 Room 164A 
Phone: (219) 473-4375 
E-mail: qchen@ccsj.edu

Milan Kolundzija, MLS

Reference / Electronic Resources Librarian 
Office: 162B 
Phone: (219) 473-4376 
E-mail: mkolundzija@ccsj.edu
 

Introduction
The Specker Library has many services and resources available to students and staff. On this page, you will find information on the policies and procedures governing the use of different resources available in the library.
Checking Out Library Materials
The CCSJ photo ID card serves as your library card and must be presented in order to check out library materials. Cards may be obtained through the library's Circulation Desk. The loan periods for different materials are noted below.  

Books 

3 Weeks

Videos/DVD's

1 Week

CD-ROMS

Library Use Only







Most materials may be renewed in person or over the phone (219-473-4373). 
Interlibrary Loan
Need a book or article for your class or paper?

The Specker Library offers students, faculty, and staff the ability to borrow books and other materials that we do not have from other libraries through a process called "interlibrary loan."  Click here to learn more about interlibrary loan. 
New Student Orientation
NOTE: If you are a new student, refer to this handout for instructions on how to login to the various services you will be using as a student.
Accessing Our Databases
Students, faculty, and staff can access Specker Library's electronic databases on campus, as well as from home through the Library’s web page. Simply visit the library's website, click on "Databases," and select an option. If you are at home, you will be prompted to enter your student ID and last name to access our resources (see below). 

Library Computers & Printing


The library has an open computer lab with free printing that students and faculty can use.  If this is the first time you are using the library computers, refer to the top of this handout for instructions on how to login to the network. 
Library Copier


A copier is available to students in the library. To make a copy, visit the Circulation Desk (desk near the entrance) and inform library staff of the number of copies you would like to make. Color copies are .25 cents per page and black/white copies are .10 cents per page.  

NOTE: The library is unable to provide change for bills greater than $5. 
Introduction
The Specker Library provides a variety of services to assist faculty and staff. These include:
  • Library Instruction
  • Interlibrary Loan
  • Blackboard Training 
  • Placing materials on reserve for students
  • Equipment/Media Rental
Library Instruction


The Specker Library offers faculty and staff the option of scheduling a library instruction session tailored specifically to their course or research assignment.  A professional librarian will work with the faculty member to create a session that is consistent with their course or assignment goals. Library instruction can cover a wide range of topics including the following :
  •  Developing a focused research topic
  •  Learning how to find books and research articles
  •  Finding peer-reviewed articles
  •  Evaluating different sources of information
Blackboard Training
Faculty or staff can receive one-on-one training on Blackboard from our Reference/Electronic Resources Librarian, Milan Kolundzija. He can also assist faculty or staff with questions they may have about using certain features within Blackboard.

You may contact Milan Kolundzija by sending an email directly to : mkolundzija@ccsj.edu 
 
Placing Resources on Reserve
Instructors may place textbooks, books, or videos on reserve for their course. Simply bring in the material you wish to place on reserve, fill out the form at our Circulation Desk, and we will do the rest.

Reserve materials will be available to students at the Circulation Desk, and may be used in the library or can be checked out either in-house, overnight or for three or seven day loan periods. To ensure that students have equal access to reserve items, a fine of $2.00 will be applied to a reserve item each day it is overdue. 

Note: It may take 48-72 hours for your reserve to be processed and ready for students to use. 
Equipment/Media Rental
Faculty members needing to use equipment such as laptops, projectors, or digital cameras can take advantage of the equipment available through the library. Stop by our Circulation Desk or call us at 219-473-4373 to learn more and schedule a reservation!
Log In for the First Time
If you’re on campus, go to a computer in the Specker Library (1st floor) or the Tutoring Center (1st floor).

At the log on screen, type in the following default user name and password for your initial log on: 

Username: first initial of first name + your entire last name + last 5 digits of CCSJ ID # (Ex.: hpotter34567) 

Initial password: ccsj-[dash] + last 5 digits of your CCSJ ID# (Ex.: ccsj-34567)

You will be prompted to create your own “permanent” password (to be changed every six months). It must be at least 7 digits long and must contain at least 3 of the following, but must not contain any part of your user name! 

- Lowercase letters - Numbers -
- UPPERCASE LETTERS
- Symbols such as # $ % ^ * 
E-mail
From any computer with Internet access, go to http://mail.ccsj.edu. Alternatively, from the CCSJ home page (www.ccsj.edu), scroll to the “Current Students” tab and select “CCSJ E-mail.”

When the login page appears, enter your newly established User Name and Password (above) to view your e-mail and manage your account. 
MYCCSJ Online Services
Go to https://my.ccsj.edu/fusebox.cfm and follow the instructions below. Alternatively, from the college homepage, scroll over the “Current Students” tab and select “MyCCSJ.”

Follow this procedure to login: 

Username: first initial of first name + your entire last name + last 5 digits of CCSJ ID #
Ex.: hpotter34567)

Password: entire 9-digit CCSJ ID#
Ex.: 000134567 
Blackboard
From the college homepage, go to the “Current Students” tab at the top and click on “CCSJ Blackboard.” On the next page, click on "Blackboard Login."

Follow these procedures to login: 

Username: first initial of first name + last name + last five digits of CCSJ ID Number

Password: CCSJ ID Number
Need Help?
Note: If you cannot login to your account or need your password reset, contact the Mailroom at 219-473-4224.
Contact Us
Whether you need help with research, finding a book or article, or have general questions about using the library, we are here to help. Our library staff can be reached several ways: 


Library Hours
Spring 2017: 
Monday - Thursday: 8:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Sunday: Closed